Frequently Asked Questions
Find answers to questions recently asked by our customers below. If you are unable to find what you are looking for, you can ask a question simply.
How To Apply For The Nevada Medical Marijuana Card?
To apply for a medical marijuana card, you need to follow these simple steps:
- Get started by filling an online evaluation form:
A patient needs to enter their details on an online evaluation form and submit the form online.
- Connect with our practitioners:
Next, you will connect with our licensed practitioners via a video call session where you can ask questions regarding your medical health.
- Register with the state:
Once you have this, you will need to register with the state and submit an application.
- Check your Email:
Once you got approved by the state, you will receive an email with a temporary card within 24 to 48 hours.
Being A Recreational Legalized State, Why Nevada Still Has A Medical Marijuana Program?
Well, people who hold a medical marijuana card in Nevada have more benefits than recreational users. Such as:
- Those who have a card do not have to pay the 10% tax that marijuana carries.
- Patients lower than 21 can also possess marijuana for their medical purposes if they have a card.
- Not only that, but a patient can also have access to grow marijuana.
Do Patients Who Hold A Card Have More Rights To Grow And Possess Weed Than Recreational Users?
Yes, patients with medical cannabis card are allowed to possess marijuana up to 2.5 oz than a non-card holder.
Also, a person who holds a card and lives within 25 miles of a dispensary store may grow their own pot if they are too ill or lack the means to travel.
Whereas non-cardholders can never grow their cannabis if they live within 25 miles of a retail store.
Can A Person Drives A Vehicle After Consuming Marijuana?
Since recreational use of marijuana is now legal in Nevada for adults 21 years of age or older, but driving under the influence (DUI) of marijuana is still a crime. A person may fall to different penalties.
Can Cardholders Grow Marijuana In Nevada?
In Nevada, cardholders can grow marijuana only in the following situations:
- If their local dispensary is unable to supply the proper strain of marijuana to the cardholder, or
- If they are not able to reasonably travel to their local dispensary due to illness or lack of transportation, or
- If there is no dispensary within 25 miles.
If cardholders meet any of these criteria, they may possess up to twelve (12) marijuana plants total irrespective of whether they are mature or immature.
How Can I Apply For A Nevada Registry Identification Card?
To register with the state, you need to follow these simple steps:
- Register with the Medical Marijuana Program through the online registry.
- Fill out the application form with your details.
- You can assign a caregiver if required.
- Obtain your physician’s signature for the application in that you are certified for your debilitating medical condition.
- You can scan and apply with a copy of a Nevada state identification card. You will also require to show your driver’s license as your permanent residency proof.
- You can pay the $50 non-refundable registration fee for your card.
What Health Conditions Can Qualify Me For A Nevada Medical Marijuana Card?
A person who suffers from any following health medical conditions can qualify for the Nevada Medical Marijuana Card:
- Anxiety disorder
- Autoimmune disease
- Cachexia, or wasting syndrome
- Neuropathic conditions
- Persistent muscle spasms,
- Seizures, including those caused by epilepsy
- Severe nausea or pain,
- Severe or chronic pain.
Who Can Be My Designated Primary Caregiver?
Your designated primary caregiver can be any person over the age of eighteen who is approved by your physician. Your designated caregiver cannot be a medical marijuana user. Also, your caregiver must not serve any other medical marijuana patients.
What Does A Registry Identification Card Cost?
During the registration process, a person needs to pay a non-refundable fee that is $50 for one year.
Can I Use Marijuana While My Application Is Pending?
Yes, you can possess medical marijuana in agreement with the program’s guidelines pending the application’s approval. You can provide them with your application if they ask for proof.
In What Circumstances, My Application May Get Denied?
In few circumstances, your registration may get denied for the following reasons:
- If a person fails to provide the required documents
- If a person fails to qualify for one of the medical conditions
- If a person fails to follow the rules adopted by the Department of Health and Human Services and the Administrator of the Division of Public and Behavioral Health (DPBH)
- If a person provides falsifying information,
- If the physician who provides recommendation is not licensed,
- If a person is under 18 years of age, and the parents or legal guardian with responsibility for the person has not signed the written statement required
- If the DPBH determines that the applicant or the designated primary caregiver knowingly or intentionally selling a controlled substance
- If the DPBH has previously prohibited the applicant from acquiring or using a registry identification card.
How Much Marijuana Can A Recreational User Consume At One Time?
A recreational user is only allowed to possess only one ounce of marijuana at one time.
What Can I Do Once I Got Denied For My Application?
Well, once you get denied, you can reapply for your application after 6 months from the date of denial. In case your application is denied for incomplete information, then you can apply right away.
Can I Smoke Marijuana In Public?
Currently, it is legal to smoke marijuana only in private residences, not in public places. Whether cannabis is used for a medicinal purpose or for a recreational purpose. The fine for smoking marijuana in public is $600.
Can A One Caregiver Serve More Than One Patient In Nevada?
No. A caregiver can not take medical marijuana for more than one patient at a time.
Do I Need A Physician To Apply?
Yes. You will need a physician to apply for the card first but make sure your practitioner is licensed.
Does My Information Remain Private With MyMMJDoctor?
Yes. At MyMMJDoctor all your information maintains under confidentiality under HIPAA compliances. All the information of cardholders and applicants, including the identities of the patients, primary caregivers, and physicians.
Can My Caregiver Help In Managing My Marijuana?
Yes. A primary caregiver can help to possess or buy medicinal marijuana for a patient.
Do I Have To Be A Resident Of Nevada To Attain A Medical Cannabis License?
Yes. To get a medical marijuana card in Nevada, an applicant must provide either a state driver’s license or identification card to prove they live at a specific address.
In Nevada, A Person Can Assign How Many Caregivers?
Each cardholder can designate one (1) and only one primary caregiver to help manage or hold the medicinal marijuana on their behalf.
Can't Find What You Are Looking For?
Ask a question here. We will answer you as soon as possible.