How To Get Medical Marijuana Card in Arizona? (Updated – 2023)
April 21, 2023
Are you wondering about the process of acquiring an Arizona Medical Marijuana Card?
Get your Arizona medical marijuana card from your home’s comfort and drop the manual hassles!
Requirements to Obtain a Medical Marijuana Card in Arizona!
Arizona permits the recreational and medical use of cannabis; however, patients must obtain a written recommendation from a state-licensed medical doctor for medicinal purposes.
To obtain a medical card, the applicants must meet the below-mentioned criteria.
An applicant must
- Be at least 18 years or older
- Have a debilitating qualifying condition
- Be an Arizona state resident
- Produce a state identification card or valid driver’s license.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Arizona?
Book an appointment
Begin with booking an appointment with a licensed medical doctor in Arizona by filling up an online evaluation form with accurate personal and medical detail and choosing the feasible timings to connect with the doctor.
Consult with the medical doctor
Once you have chosen the feasible timings, you will be connected to the medical doctor to perform the medical evaluations. This evaluation will take 15-20 minutes, so you are advised to stay patient and feel free to ask any queries associated with the medicine.
Get your medical marijuana card
Once the doctor approves you, the state authorities will review the information and share the digital medical card in PDF format within 14 days. Once you receive your medical card, you can print it to access medical cannabis products from nearby dispensaries.
Qualifying Conditions For Medical Marijuana Treatment in Arizona!
The list of qualifying conditions for accessing medical cannabis treatment in Arizona includes:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Crohn’s Disease
- Hepatitis C
- HIV/ AIDS
- Severe Pain
- Muscle Spasms
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
Medical Marijuana Registration Process
Once the medical doctor diagnoses the applicant with a qualifying medical ailment and provides the medical recommendation, the process of registering with the state begins. Register with the state by filling up the ADHS Individual Licensing portal by providing a state ID card and other essentials.
The cost to register with the state and receive a medical license in Arizona is $150 for the card.
The state offers exceptional discounts for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program patients; that is, the state enables such program patients to pay $75 only.
However, the minor patients need to pay $350 for the application, including the caregiver.
And the caregiver application is an additional $200 for adult patients.
Essential to note!
The Arizona Department of Health Services will respond with either approval or denial for the application within ten days of receiving the application.
Arizona Medical Marijuana
Arizona decriminalized medical cannabis use and acquisition in 2010 through the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act. However, later in Nov 2020, the state decriminalized recreational cannabis for possession, cultivation, and personal use for adult individuals who are 21 or older. Click here to know more about Arizona’s marijuana legalization history.
Even qualified medical cannabis patients are not permitted to sell or donate marijuana products to other patients.
Caregiver Qualifications in Arizona
Becoming a designated caregiver in Arizona is as simple as filling out an online application form.
However, the caregivers must qualify the criteria to administer the medicine on the patient’s behalf. This includes:
- The individual must be at least 21 years or older.
- The individual must have never been convicted of a felony.
- The individual must pass the compulsory criminal background check.
- The individual must be a state resident.
- And the individual must be already registered as a licensee by ADHS.
The state permits a caregiver to assist up to 5 patients at a time under one license. And the caregiver card expires every year that must be renewed before expiration.
The state recommends that before submitting the caregiver form online, the individual must check all the boxes mentioned in the checklist and submit their fingerprints to ADHS.
Medical Cannabis Possession in Arizona
The amount permitted by the state for medical cannabis patients and caregivers to acquire 2.5 ounces every two weeks.
Medical Cannabis Cultivation in Arizona
Arizona state laws permit the state patients or their designated caregivers to grow their own medicine under two circumstances only. This includes:
- The patients or designated caregivers can cultivate up to 12 crops in their personal space if they do not have a licensed dispensary within 25 miles of their house.
- The crops must be cultivated in a closed building only that may include a greenhouse, a room, or any enclosed area fitted with safety systems so that it can be accessed by the cardholders only.
As of the updated marijuana laws in Arizona in Nov 2020, the state permitted the cultivation of up to 6 plants at patients’ residences and 12 plants at a home where two or more individuals at least 21 years old residing at one time.
Frequently Asked Questions
How to legally obtain medical marijuana in Arizona?
To obtain medical marijuana legally, a qualified patient needs a medical cannabis card, and this medical card helps the patients to access cannabis products from nearby licensed dispensaries.
Do I still require medical records to get an mmj card in Arizona?
How to set up an appointment with a medical marijuana doctor in Arizona?
How long does it take to get an mmj card in Arizona?
How to renew a medical marijuana card in Arizona?
Can my caregiver administer cannabis for me?
Yes, if you are a minor or disabled patient and you have a designated caregiver, in such a case, your caregiver can administer cannabis on the patient’s behalf. They can purchase cannabis from nearby dispensaries and even cultivate it for the patients.
How long is the MMJ card in Arizona valid?
The mmj card in Arizona is valid for two years. You can possess, cultivate and use medical cannabis products to treat your medical condition devoid of any legal troubles.
After I received a medical cannabis card, where can I use it?
Once you have received a medical cannabis card, you can take the card to the nearby licensed dispensaries to buy the marijuana products and use them legally.
Does a caregiver also need an mmj card in Arizona?
Yes! Caregivers are required to complete the caregiver application through the AZDHS and upload the below-mentioned information:
- A residential proof
- A fingerprint
- A fingerprint verification form
- A completed medical marijuana caregiver attestation form
- A recent photograph
Our Simple 3 Step Process For Medical Marijuana Card
1. Fill up your details in an easy 420 Evaluations form.
2. Get Evaluated by a Local MMJ doctor After Online Submission.
3. Get Approved and Receive your Recommendation In Your Email.
Looking To Apply For A Medical Marijuana Card?
Step-by-Step Guide to Obtaining a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida
Step-by-Step Guide to Obtaining a Medical Marijuana Card in FloridaTable of Content Introduction How Can I Get A Medical Marijuana Recommendation In Florida? How To Complete The Registration Process With The MMUR? Are There Any Eligibility Criteria...
Comprehensive Guide to Florida’s Medical Marijuana Legalization Laws: A List of Enacted Legislation
Comprehensive Guide to Florida's Medical Marijuana Legalization Laws: A List of Enacted LegislationTable of Content Introduction Key Laws With the passage of Amendment 2 in 2014, marijuana is legal in Florida but only for medical purposes....
New York Medical Marijuana Qualifying Conditions
Qualifying Conditions List for New York Medical Marijuana Card in 2023.Table of Content Introduction Qualifying Medical Conditions List Some Other Requirements Of The New York Medical Marijuana Card Can A Minor Qualify For A New York Medical...