Table of Content
To cut to the chase, yes, marijuana is legal in Maryland, but for only medical use. However, without a valid medical marijuana card, the use of cannabis for adults and recreational is prohibited. However, the state doesn’t allow all types of products for consumption. According to Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC), dried flower and marijuana-infused products like oils, lotions, and pills are legal, and you can find them in licensed dispensaries.
Medical marijuana laws in Maryland
Governor Martin O’Malley signed HB 881, and the Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission legalized the use of medical marijuana on June 1, 2014. The law allows the state-licensed production and distribution of marijuana to qualified patients with a registered physician’s certification.
Additionally, the law created the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC), which governs medical marijuana in the state. They regulate the consumption, distribution, possession, and cultivation of medical marijuana for patients.
Where Is It Safe To Consume Marijuana In Maryland?
MMCC prohibits cannabis use in public places, transportation, workplaces, educational institutions, or in the presence of anyone younger than 18. In short, cannabis consumption must take place on private property. Although, if you are in private with a minor, it is still punishable. The law also prohibits cannabis that would endanger the health or well-being of another person. Remember, smoking weed in public carries a civil fine of up to $500.
There are two different purchase limits in Maryland, one for dried flowers and the other for THC in marijuana-infused products. Patients can buy 120 grams of cannabis flower and 36 grams of THC in a marijuana-infused product within 30 days. Doctors may recommend more or less than the legal limit on a patient’s certification.
In Maryland, cannabis for adult or recreational use of fewer than 10 grams is a civil offense. Fine not exceeding $100 for first-time defaulters, $250 for second-time, and $500 for third or subsequent defaulters.
Possession of more than 50 pounds of marijuana carries a punishment of a minimum of 5 years imprisonment and a fine not exceeding $100,000.
Medical Marijuana Registry
The MMCC take care of the registry for caregivers and their patient. Once registered, patients must receive a certification from a registered physician under the MMCC. Patients who have received a physician’s certification and completed the MMCC application can purchase medical marijuana from a licensed dispensary.
Caregivers and qualified patients need to register separately. Both the patients and the caregivers are required to purchase ID cards from the MMCC before they can obtain marijuana from a licensed dispensary. Minor patients must have a parent or legal guardian sign on their behalf. Patients must fulfill the eligibility criteria before their medical marijuana registry ID card. Remember, MMCC registration is valid for three years, and a physician’s certification is for one year.
What medical conditions qualify for a Medical Marijuana Card in Maryland?
Patients suffering from the following medical conditions are eligible to apply for a medical marijuana card in Maryland.
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Severe or chronic pain
- Severe nausea
- Other chronic and severe medical conditions for which other treatments have been ineffective.
If your condition is not listed, you can petition the MMCC if you want the state to add your illness as a new qualifying condition.
Process for legally obtaining medical marijuana in Maryland?
You don’t need to go anywhere. The whole process is online. Remember, the online application form must be completed and submitted in one session; you will not be able to save and complete the application at a later time.
- Register as a patient with MMCC. If the patient is under 18, their parent or legal guardian must register first.
- Submit your ID proof with the resident mentioned and a passport-size photo taken within the last six months. The ID proof must be a valid US government-issued ID.
- Pay the non-refundable $50 application fee.
- By clicking the link in the registration email, verify the account
- Note the Patient ID Number and give it to a physician.
- Obtain a written certification from a physician registered with the MMCC.
- Print a temporary MMCC Patient ID card
- Purchase cannabis from a licensed dispensary.
Process for Caregiving medical marijuana in Maryland?
Caregivers must be at least 21 years old and register with and purchase ID cards from the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission. The caregiver needs to present his MMCC Caregiver ID card at the state-licensed dispensary to buy medical marijuana.
A registered patient is permitted to have a maximum of two caregivers at one time, and the caregiver may provide care for up to five patients. Minor patients have at least one caregiver at all times. Only parents and legal guardians of 21 years are eligible to serve as their caregivers.
The caregiver Registration process in Maryland
The process of registering a caregiver is the same as patient registration, and the application fee is similar.
- Submit a valid US government-issued photo identification and proof of Maryland residency.
- Complete and submit the online application form on the official website of the MMCC.
- Receive approval from the MMCC.
- Select the patient in the caregiver registry.
- Purchase a caregiver ID card for $50.
Does Maryland accept out-of-state cards?
Maryland used to provide reciprocity to patients outside the state, but it no longer does.
Weed is legal in Maryland, but some laws and regulations are associated with it, which makes it a little complex for beginners. But you don’t need to scratch your head because My MMJ Doctor is here. We help you navigate the maze of regulations and requirements that define the use of medical marijuana so that the process is flawless for you. Book an appointment with us today and get your health journey started.
Our Simple 3 Step Process For Medical Marijuana Card
1. Fill up your details in an easy 420 Evaluations form.
2. Get Evaluated by a Local MMJ doctor After Online Submission.
3. Get Approved and Receive your Recommendation In Your Email.
Looking To Apply For A Medical Marijuana Card?
Can You Use Your “Self-Certified” DC Medical Cannabis Card in Other StatesWritten By Garry StewartTable of Content Introduction Can you use your “self-certified” DC medical cannabis card in other states? Does Washington, DC accept out-of-state...
California Eliminating Cultivation Taxes on Marijuana, Keep Excise Tax at 15%Written By Garry StewartTable of Content Introduction Experts Advice Final Takeaway "Another Good news is coming!" A California state's budget plan bill uncovered for the...
What Is Decarboxylation? How To Decarboxylate Cannabis? Written By Steve BrandonTable of Content Introduction What is Decarboxylation? How does the Decarbing Process Work? What is the science behind Decarboxylating Cannabis? Decarboxylated Cannabis...