Is Weed Legal in Virginia? Cannabis Legalization Guide
April 21, 2023
Weed, sometimes referred to as cannabis or marijuana, is legal for medical and recreational use in Virginia. Adults 21 and older can legally possess up to one ounce of cannabis and cultivate up to four cannabis plants at their primary or private residence. Medical marijuana cardholders, on the other hand, can possess up to four ounces at once per 30 days.
Earlier, weed wasn’t legal for recreational purposes in Virginia. After a long wait and continuous efforts, the government of Virginia finally allowed the recreational use of marijuana on July 1, 2021. However, their neighboring states had previously permitted it. Although Virginia’s marijuana program is still behind some states, we can see the massive improvements in the past year. Patients now have access to more marijuana products, and there is an increasing number of medical marijuana dispensaries.
The Virginia General Assembly tightened the laws on cannabis in the 90s but gave some relaxation for medical use and distribution for cancer and glaucoma. In the 90s, Virginia also had some of the lightest penalties for Marijuana cultivation compared to other states.
In 2017, the government of Virginia approved a bill allowing limited cannabis cultivation and dispensation to the person who had a valid prescription for using cannabis to treat glaucoma or chemotherapy. They allow access to CBD or THCA oil for patients diagnosed with epilepsy. In 2018, the governor of Virginia signed a bill expanding access to more people by permitting licensed health care professionals to recommend medical marijuana to to patients who could benefit from its usage.
In 2019, the state allowed practitioners and physician assistants to issue written certifications for patients to use medical cannabis extracts, but each dose could contain up to 10 milligrams of THC. Here the practitioners mean a physician or physician assistant of medicine or osteopathy licensed by the Board of Medicine and a nurse practitioner jointly licensed by the Board of Medicine and the Board of Nursing.
On July 1, 2020, possession of only less than one ounce of marijuana was legal. One year later, in July 2021, the recreational use of marijuana became legal. Although recreational use of marijuana in Virginia has been legal since 2021, retail sales are not scheduled to begin until 2024. Some parts of the new law regarding penalties and retail sales will have to be reenacted by the government of Virginia in 2022 before they can be implemented.
Where is it Safe To Consume Cannabis in Virginia?
While recreational and medical marijuana is now legal, people are not allowed to smoke wherever they want. Under the law, smoking cannabis is allowed only in private but not in public places and especially not in front of minors.
Those who violate this rule will be subject to a minimum fine of $25 for a first offense. And be required to enter an education program, or both, for a second offense. Those convicted of subsequent offenses will be guilty of a Class 4 misdemeanor means a fine of a minimum fine of $250.
The penalty for consuming or possessing marijuana near the school or educational institution is offensive. Violation of this rule will be subject to confinement in jail for nearly six months and a fine of not exceeding $1,000, or both.
Marijuana Possession Limit in Virginia
Every 30 days, medical marijuana cardholders in Virginia are allowed to purchase up to 4 ounces of marijuana. The specified possession limit for some cannabis products is 90 days. Such cannabis products, as defined under the law, can contain up to 10 mg of THC per single dose. Products permitted under the law may be in any form, including edible and inhalable.
Medical Marijuana Registry in Virginia
Patients must have a recommendation letter from a licensed healthcare professional. A licensed healthcare professional could be anyone who has a license as a physician, psychologist, psychiatrist, or therapist from the state. The recommendation letter must be approved or registered with the Virginia Department of Health Professions and Board of Pharmacy.
If the patient is a minor, any of the patient’s parents must register themselves, and a critical account of all the laws is on their shoulders.
The state application fee costs $50, and for parents or guardians, $25. Once you register, the Board of Pharmacy will process your application in not more than seven business days. If your application is approved, they will issue you a certificate. The recommendation letter and registration are valid for one year and must be renewed annually.
Qualifying Condition for MMJ card in Virginia
The most critical medical conditions qualify so that the patients who genuinely require cannabis to treat their ailments could be eligible for medical marijuana card in Virginia. We have listed some common conditions below that can quickly bring you a cannabis card.
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Crohn’s Disease
- Chronic pain
- Epilepsy and seizures
Remember, other than these; most medical conditions can qualify for a medical marijuana card. So, if you do not see your medical condition on the list, do not worry. Just consult us! We can help you know about this, and if you qualify, provide an MMJ card too!
Get Your MMJ card in Four Simple Steps!
Getting your medical cannabis card in Virginia is simple and easy. Your cannabis card is just a few clicks away.
Fill out a simple form with your previous medical records through our online patient portal.
One doctor from our team will reach you online through an audio-video call. The doctor will ask some questions regarding your medical conditions and the need for a medical cannabis card.
Download your medical marijuana recommendation letter through email and you can request for hardcopy too.
The caregiver needs to educate themselves on the laws and the benefits and drawbacks of medical marijuana. There are a few factors that make a caregiver eligible for providing medical marijuana to the assigned patient. They must be a certain age and may have to pass a certification course.
There may be disqualifying factors, such as a marijuana caregiver is not allowed to be employed in the medical cannabis industry. Caregivers must renew their registration timely and cannot provide services to a patient if the certification has expired.
The law allowed caregivers to purchase the medicine from a licensed dispensary for the assigned patient. Caregivers are also allowed to cultivate the plant, but there are limits on how many plants a caregiver may grow. In Virginia, caregiver adults 21 years of age can grow up to four cannabis plants per household, not per person.
Virginia doesn’t accept interstate medical marijuana cards or has no reciprocity agreements with other states.
Our Simple 3 Step Process For Medical Marijuana Card
1. Fill up your details in an easy 420 Evaluations form.
2. Get Evaluated by a Local MMJ doctor After Online Submission.
3. Get Approved and Receive your Recommendation In Your Email.
Looking To Apply For A Medical Marijuana Card?
Step-by-Step Guide to Obtaining a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida
Step-by-Step Guide to Obtaining a Medical Marijuana Card in FloridaTable of Content Introduction How Can I Get A Medical Marijuana Recommendation In Florida? How To Complete The Registration Process With The MMUR? Are There Any Eligibility Criteria...
Comprehensive Guide to Florida’s Medical Marijuana Legalization Laws: A List of Enacted Legislation
Comprehensive Guide to Florida's Medical Marijuana Legalization Laws: A List of Enacted LegislationTable of Content Introduction Key Laws With the passage of Amendment 2 in 2014, marijuana is legal in Florida but only for medical purposes....
New York Medical Marijuana Qualifying Conditions
Qualifying Conditions List for New York Medical Marijuana Card in 2023.Table of Content Introduction Qualifying Medical Conditions List Some Other Requirements Of The New York Medical Marijuana Card Can A Minor Qualify For A New York Medical...