Table of Content
Coming right to the point, Marijuana is legal in Maryland only for medical use. The state of Maryland is one of 38 states where weed is partially-recognized. However, to be able to possess and consume medical marijuana, you will require a license from the state. This license is monitored and provided by the state legislature. The otherwise use of weed for recreational and adult use is prohibited by the government with the limited exemption for possession of marijuana for non-registered residents of Maryland.
Is Weed Legal in Maryland?
Medical Marijuana has been legal in Maryland since 2013. Efforts and research on the positive effects of the cannabis plant have led the state legislature to enforce medical marijuana available to the needy.
- 2013 – Governor Martin O’Malley signed a law that decriminalized the possession of 10 grams or less of marijuana.
- 2016 – The Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC) awarded 15 primary licenses to grow medical marijuana and a further 15 licenses to process medical marijuana into pills, oils, and other medical products. This was also the year when physicians, nurse practitioners, dentists, podiatrists, and nurse midwives were allowed to certify patients as eligible for medical marijuana.
- 2017 – An introduction in the state legislature to legalize, tax, and regulate recreational marijuana in the state. Maryland’s medical marijuana program became operational and sales began.
- 2019 – The Marijuana Legalization Workgroup, began to consider ways to possibly legalize the adult use of recreational marijuana in Maryland.
- 2022 – The governor of Maryland has put the policy straight into the ballot box for Maryland voters to decide whether the recreational use of marijuana can be legalized or not. After the voting, the bill could pass as law without the signature or veto of the Governor.
Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws
The medical program, known as the Natalie M. LaPrade Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (MMCC), became operational in 2017. This commission is the regulatory agency for medical marijuana in Maryland. It maintains and overlooks all the necessary policies, procedures, registries, and laws on medical marijuana.
Who Can Use Medical Marijuana in Maryland?
Similar to other states that decriminalized marijuana, Maryland also has a list of qualifying medical conditions. The registering patients must have undergone a diagnostic evaluation and have medical records or proof of such a diagnosis. Patients having the following medical conditions can use medical marijuana.
- Chronic, Severe, or Intractable Pain
- Multiple Sclerosis (M.S.)
- Persistent Muscle Spasms
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe Nausea
- Wasting Syndrome
- Severe conditions where other medical treatments have been ineffective
- A medical condition requiring hospice admittance or receiving palliative care And other such severe intractable conditions may come under this list when updated by the Maryland legislation.
Possession and Cultivation
- Qualifying Patients – can possess up to 120 grams of cannabis flower (dried) or 36 grams of THC concentrate for 30 days. Any more than that can also be prescribed by the medical practitioner, and if so, you must produce the certification proof in case of inquiry.
- Non-patients – Adults over the age of 21 can possess 10 grams or less of marijuana in person. Anything more than that is punishable by the law as follows:
1. $100 for first-time offenders
2. $250 for second-time offenders
3. $500 for third or subsequent offenders
- It is illegal to grow any number of marijuana plants even for Medical Marijuana Card holders.
There is no tax on marijuana in Maryland. Yet the registration for becoming an MM cardholder through the MMCC program, you are subjected to pay an amount of $140.
Since medical marijuana is well-recognized, there can be a need for a caregiver. Also considering the diagnosis for minors or differently abled patients, a caregiver is approved by the Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission.
- Qualifying patients under 18 can obtain medical marijuana with the help of their caregiver or any authorized school personnel.
- A caregiver can serve up to 5 patients at a time.
- Qualifying patients above 18 can have only 2 caregivers and those under 18 can have only 4 caregivers.
Maryland does not have medical marijuana reciprocity and so does not honor medical marijuana cards from other states. However, the states which recognize out-of-state cards may consider Maryland’s certification. Here are some probable states:
- Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana
- Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico
- Puerto Rico
- Rhode Island
- U.S. Virgin Islands, Utah
- Washington, D.C.
Near schools, nurseries, parks, or other places where children are expected to be, using marijuana is illegal. Use in federal land or buildings, hospitals, or any additional healthcare space is also illegal. Private members’ clubs and landowners may also prohibit cannabis use on their property or restrict it at their discretion. So it is highly advised to consume marijuana in the comfort and privacy of your own home.
Any qualifying patient, caregiver, etc. may not be denied any right or privilege because of medical marijuana as long as they abide by the consumption guidelines.
Maryland Medical Marijuana Card
Being a resident of Maryland, falling under the age limit, obtaining the approval of a medical professional, and having the necessary documents for submission is enough for you to apply for Maryland Medical Marijuana Card.
To own or run a dispensary unit in the state of Maryland, you must be over 21 years of age. If you are about to volunteer or work in a dispensary, then you should register with the commission and obtain a background check.
Furthermore, the dispensary applicants must submit the following
- Legal name and physical address of the proposed dispensary.
- Name, address, and date of birth for each principal officer and direct.
- Intended operating procedures.
Compared to other countries that decriminalize marijuana partially, Maryland has a pretty good record of maintaining enforcement programs across the state. From application to the dispensary, the procedure is regulated by the MMCC so there is no nip-slip. Marylandians feel privileged to have medical marijuana recognition.
Our Simple 3 Step Process For Medical Marijuana Card
1. Fill up your details in an easy 420 Evaluations form.
2. Get Evaluated by a Local MMJ doctor After Online Submission.
3. Get Approved and Receive your Recommendation In Your Email.
Looking To Apply For A Medical Marijuana Card?
CBD Oil for Hair Growth: A Comprehensive Guide!Table of Content Introduction Does CBD Help Prevent Hair Loss? How CBD Can Help Regrow Your Hair? Reasons To Use CBD For Hair Loss! How To Use CBD For Hair Loss? Can Stress Lead To Hair Fall? If Yes,...
Exploring the Intersection: Can You Mix Melatonin and Weed?Table of Content Introduction Can You Mix Cannabis & Melatonin? Potential Benefits of Using Melatonin and Marijuana Potential Side Effects Of Combining Marijuana And Melatonin! Factors to...
Neurological Healing: How Cannabis Helps in Treating Brain Damage?Table of Content Introduction What Is TBI and Its Symptoms? Best Marijuana Strains For TBI Can We Use Marijuana for Minor TBI Patients? Is There Any Side Effect of Using Cannabis For...