Table of Content
A medical cannabis card or medical marijuana card is a state-issued identification card that enables a patient with a doctor’s recommendation to obtain, possess, or cultivate cannabis for medicinal use despite marijuana’s lack of FDA testing for safety and efficacy. These cards are only issuable by a state or county in which medical cannabis is legal. Typically a patient pays a fee to the state to obtain a medical marijuana card. Alternatively, it refers to medical marijuana identification (MMID) or medical marijuana (MMJ).
Why Should You Get a Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
The first medical marijuana dispensary opened in August 2020, and a small amount of marijuana for adult recreational use became legal in July 2021. Even though marijuana for adult use is legal in Virginia, several perks make you more comfortable purchasing weed for treatment with an MMJ card.
Any medical condition should be curable in this age of awareness, just like people can treat the common cold. Studies show that medical marijuana improves certain disorders and diseases. Medical marijuana effects, minor or significant, still provide relief to long-suffering patients. Many states in the US have a curated list of eligible medical issues that the government approves for medical marijuana. In Virginia, the law is even more flexible on qualifying medical conditions.
A licensed medical health professional practicing in Virginia can evaluate a patient and determine the need for medical marijuana for their treatment. If the doctor deems a patient qualifying, they can proceed for an MMJ Card. Here are some common conditions which heal or reduce the effects while using medical marijuana.
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Cachexia and wasting syndrome
- Crohn’s Disease
- Chronic Pain
- Epilepsy and other seizure disorders
- Hepatitis C
- Huntington’s Disease
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Sickle Cell Anemia
- Tourette’s Syndrome.
Save your Savings
The economy of a nation does not remain the same. In fact, it has skyrocketed ever since technology and population rise. While this is in mind, we should consider how we save money and manage expenses. Treating your ailments is one big necessity for a healthy lifestyle. Thus, it is also meaningful to reap the benefits of tax exemption on medicines.
Virginia state levies a 21 percent excise tax on marijuana sales paid by consumers and remitted by retailers. Local governments can also levy up to a 3 percent tax on the retail price. But wait! If you are a registered medical marijuana patient, you only pay a 5.30% sales tax on every purchase of medical marijuana. There is no additional excise tax on medical marijuana in Virginia.
When it comes to the use of drugs, one must be extra cautious. Marijuana is a Schedule I drug, meaning it classifies as a controlled substance under federal law. It also means that marijuana has a high potential for abuse. This case is why the law never allows a person to consume marijuana without a doctor recommending it.
Virginia state legislature laid down rules for the regulated use of medical marijuana by potential patients. Let’s take a look at the differences in the regulations for recreational and medical use.
- As long as you have a valid prescription and an MMJ card, you can possess up to a 90-day supply of per-visit medical marijuana products.
- If you are not a registered patient, an adult can possess only 1 oz of marijuana.
- Cultivation of 4 mature or immature marijuana plants is legal as of 2022.
You can navigate here for more information on Virginia Medical Marijuana Laws.
Access to Any Age
Medical illnesses do not occur by age. Therefore, patients of any age should have access to medical treatment. Marijuana becomes accessible even to children below 18 years of age only with an MMJ card. Otherwise, minor patients cannot obtain marijuana for medical use.
Virginia has structural procedures to enable minor patients with medical marijuana. So, the state requires an adult caregiver (21 or above) to assist the underage patient. A caregiver is most definitely a parent or a legal guardian of the concerned patient. They must undergo an approval process with the state before beginning the medication.
Any disabled adult patient can also get assistance from a caregiver. In this case, the consulting medical marijuana doctor is responsible for suggesting a valid caregiver.
Take a Trip
Let’s be practical. Would you not travel anywhere when you are under medication? What if there is an emergency and you have to fly out to another state?
Some state laws cover medical marijuana for that. Unfortunately, Virginia does not support reciprocity and thus does not approve out-of-state medical cannabis cards. However, Virginia Medical Marijuana Card may get recognition in other states. Here’s a list of US states where other state medical cards are accepted for a short while or even longer.
States that offer some form of reciprocity with exceptions include
- New Hampshire (possession only, with severe limitations)
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- Rhode Island
Quality and Quantity
When you have an MMJ card, nobody can resist you from purchasing quality marijuana products. You will have access to licensed medical marijuana dispensaries under regular quality checks. These dispensaries also function by abiding by the laws laid down by the CCA.
All state-approved dispensaries only sell lab-tested marijuana products specially processed by the government. Immediate restocking and 24*7 availability are a must in such dispensaries.
The specified possession limit for medical marijuana products is a 90-day supply. Such cannabis products, as defined under the law, may contain up to 10 mg of THC per single dose. Products permitted under the law may be in any formulation, including inhalable, edible, and topical preparations.
But there are strict restrictions on the possession limits and formulations for non-MMJ-cardholders.
The benefits of a medical marijuana card far outweigh the convenience of over-the-counter recreational cannabis use. Consider getting a Virginia MMJ Card today with My MMJ Doctor.
Our Simple 3 Step Process For Medical Marijuana Card
1. Fill up your details in an easy 420 Evaluations form.
2. Get Evaluated by a Local MMJ doctor After Online Submission.
3. Get Approved and Receive your Recommendation In Your Email.
Looking To Apply For A Medical Marijuana Card?
What are Medical Marijuana Laws in Virginia? (Updated - 2024)Table of Content Introduction Virginia Medical Marijuana Laws 2024 Possession and Penalties Virginia Cannabis Cultivation Laws Caregiving Reciprocity How Weed Became Legal in Virginia?...
Is Weed Legal in Virginia? Cannabis Legalization Guide!Table of Content Introduction Legislation Safe To Consume Possession Registry Qualify Conditions Simple Steps Caregivers Reciprocity Weed, sometimes referred to as cannabis or marijuana, is legal...
Virginia Creates A Cannabis Agency To Regulate The Budding IndustryTable of Content Summary Virginia is taking little steps to move towards the recreational marijuana market. And you will be happy to know that the establishment of the Virginia...